Pricing a Gig: Getting Undercut

Posted on June 10, 2013 by

3


Pricing a GigPricing seems to be the topic of the day for me. I got two notes in my inbox on the subject and I wanted to share a few thoughts. For starters, if you’re new to pricing performances, you might want to check out this article written earlier in 2013 about it to support your pricing process. 

The first note was from someone who said, “what do you do when you get underbid?” I recently got outbid by a younger performance troupe on a gig where they are getting paid almost 2x as much money for a performance 5x as long with 6x as many artists. How I see it is if some other group wants to do 6x as much work for 5x as long for 1/3 the pay per person than I’m getting, good luck to them. I mean, I’m unwilling to do that. I value my time, my skills and my training too much to sell myself that short.

If you’re firm in your pricing and you hear about people underbidding, I recommend considering these things:

  • Look in your heart: are you disappointed because you are attached?
  • Would you be willing to do what the competition is offering?
  • Do you care that Nike and Converse both offer sneakers for $100 a pair but you can get those same sneakers nearly free at good will?
  • Does it make you want to reduce your rate?

Because if you are still feel set on your rate and you wouldn’t do what the competition would do, why do you really care that you got underbid? I’m guessing, because you lost the money and you’re attached to the money itself.

Open into the contraction and breathe.

I offer you one of the best things my coach ever said to me which has been one of the most valuable frames of reference in this process of growing my business: “what’s next is always better.”

Don’t waste your time worrying about the other guy, especially when the numbers are as disproportionate as the ones I listed above or even worse, like the inquiry I got: free. People giving it away are in a different place in their career than a professional. And the clients willing to “hire” them are not your clients. Focus on better opportunities.

And, keep practicing so you have more to offer and differentiate yourself in the market. 🙂

Posted in: Business, Performance